Beauty tip : Coconut Oil as a Hair Mask

I just did this because I happened to have coconut oil on my kitchen and found it to be a great way to moisturize my hair. I wanted to do a cheap version of a hair mask (meaning not having to go buy one or buying a lot of ingredients) and voila! I googled the benefits of coconut oil and it seems that there are a lot of people writing about the benefits of it and how to use it as a hair mask, so I gave it a try.

I used organic coconut oil as I read that processed ones may have been stripped of the ingredients that make it work, so keep it natural people. I have a lot of hair and it is long so I did use a lot, maybe about 4 table spoons. However, it does go a long way so you may be able to use a lot less.

I divided my hair into four sections and put it in using my hands and massaging it from root to ends. I wrapped it with a towel for 45 minutes and took a shower. I only shampooed it once… however it is very oily so I would shampoo it twice if I had to go out after it or the next day (I am staying home so I thought it would be good to let it stay a bit oily since it has been feeling very dry lately.

Results? I loved it. It looks really shiny, healthy, and does not smell (I thought it would smell like coconut but it smells clean shampoo-like). Would probably not use this if my hair was very oily but I will be using it as a weekly treatment as it only requires one ingredient and it feels so amazingly soft.

PS. I just got some multivitamins for women as I was noticing my hair is thinning and thought it may be due to lack of a vitamin. I got the gummy version … will see if it helps. As soon as I turned 25 I noticed this change so it may just be my hair aging :(

Leave a Reply

